Ezzie

Game not utilizing half my PC performance.

11 posts in this topic

I'm not a game developer so I can't be sure if this is a bug or if its called bad optimization, but I have 6GB VRAM and 16GB RAM, both of which stay at 50% and 30% usage respectively. CPU usage maxes out at 70%. Any way to solve this? 

Solve?
I dunno what setup you have but that sounds like a good optimization to me.
Your stuff (hardware) should NEVER run at 100% load. Then throttling and bottlenecks will start.
Think of it as your car, you dont want push the pedal to the metal just to make it go forward. You always want some jiggleroom and potential extra power to kick in when you reach those hard to calculate algorithms and/or rendering.
So, to me it sounds really good if you have those numbers while playing the game. Then you have a solid system that dont require to run at max and you have a futureproof setup.

2 people like this

Can you post your specs? Optimisation is still undergoing development, so it could easily be that. 

Are you experiencing FPS lag? 

Edited by Delta

13 minutes ago, hitem said:

Your stuff (hardware) should NEVER run at 100% load. Then throttling and bottlenecks will start.

Oh no, not again... the car analogy already didn't work the first time you brought it up to support your claim.

Yes, your graphic card should ideally run at 100%. If it doesn't, then chances are high that it doesn't receive enough data to process due to other limitations (CPU, drive, driver issues). 

Throttling is rather related to poor ventilation and overheating as result.

22 minutes ago, Lillymouche said:

Oh no, not again... the car analogy already didn't work the first time you brought it up to support your claim.

Yes, your graphic card should ideally run at 100%. If it doesn't, then chances are high that it doesn't receive enough data to process due to other limitations (CPU, drive, driver issues). 

Throttling is rather related to poor ventilation and overheating as result.